A rose by a different name does “taste” as sweet

After the gorgeous bouquet of roses I received from my crush, I attempted similarly to give a rose, but one I think men might like a little more.   ImageFor dinner a few nights ago I cooked some delicious ingredients that I picked up at Meat and Fish at the 7th Street Public Market.   Below is pictured a 8 ounce salmon sockeye filet with a mediterranean herb couscous in a large leaf of green cabbage.   Plated next to the salmon is a tuna carpaccio rose.  This is a very thin piece of raw tuna that is rolled and then folded to look like a rose.  It is a bit complicated to eat, but I cut mine into small pieces and combined it with the salmon in the couscous.   My go-to vegetable is asparagus with fresh cracked pepper.  

Image

Some tips as far as the salmon.  Check out this beautiful piece of sockeye (or red) salmon from 7th Street!  Sockeye is such a great choice because it is very low in methylmercury (the downside to eating fish on the regular.)

Image

SKIN: salmon skin is edible but only if the skin has been fully de-scaled.  While I served the salmon skin, I had not prepared the skin to be eaten, only to be cooked with.  Whenever cooking meat/fish, always start with skin-side down in the pan.  Before cooking, score the skin.  To score, rake a fork in a cross-hatching design and thinly penetrate the skin.   COOKING: instead of using vegetable or canola oil in the pan, I instead used coconut oil.  I didn’t have any so when I was at Dean & Deluca (total indulgence) I picked up a jar.  I mean I literally picked up a jar.  And then I set it right back down.  18 dollars?!  For the oil to put in the pan?  I don’t think so, thank you.  However, I then was at Marshall’s later that day.  I walked through the cooking aisle and there, for $6, was an equal size jar of coconut oil…hooray!  The sweetness of this oil was a great substitute.  I coated the bottom of the pan liberally and let heat.  Salmon should sizzle when placed, remember, skin down!  

Leave a Reply

