A Taste of Texas

It’s no mystery that I am from Texas.  As you enter my room, a 2’X4′ flag greets you in the hallway to the left of the door.  There are so many things that are truly Texan and when it comes to food there are two that nothing else can compare: queso and Texas sheet cake.

My crush says he has this aversion to all things Texan.  Now I get not understanding how to take so much pride in one’s state if you aren’t from Texas because what other state deserves that much loyalty?  Anyways, in an effort to make him like the Texas part of me rather than count that as a strike against me, I cooked up these two hometown favorites.

Image

This is some ridiculously easy crockpot queso.  I am not going to pretend it is remotely healthy though I did add spinach and serve with multigrain tortilla chips if that is any consolation.

Ingredients:

1 block of Velvetta cheese

1 can of diced tomatoes with peppers

2 handfuls of shredded spinach

Directions: Combine and melt in crockpot

As you can see, it was a hit!  He dove right in…point for Texas!Image

Point number two came from this sure-to-please crowd favorite.  Texas Sheet Cake.  I don’t like pecans so I selfishly removed them from the ingredients which I now will admit is a total Texas no-no because the pecan is our state nut.  So, true Texans and all those who wish they could call Texas home, please don’t forget our state nut when you try this one out.  The secret is pouring the hot icing on top of a hot cake so that the icing sinks into the cake.  I will give more details soon but got to run.  Hope I leave your mouth watering!Image

Image

Leave a Reply

